AMVCA Diaries: Here are the 2024 Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards Winners

After a whole year of passion, energy, and sleepless nights, the time has finally come to crown the best of the best in film at the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA). With movie trailblazers from around the world coming together to celebrate excellence in film, here’s the AMVCA Winners list!

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Winner: Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)


  • Stan Nze (Afamefuna)
  • Marc Zinga (Omen)
  • Gideon Okeke (Egun)
  • David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)
  • Richard Mofe Damijo (The Black Book)
  • Adedimeji Lateef (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Gabriel Afolayan (This is Lagos)


Best Actress in a Leading Role

Winner: Kehinde Bankole (Adire)


  •  Segilola Ogidan (Over the Bridge)
  • Lucie Debay (Omen)
  • Omowunmi Dada (Asiri Ade)
  • Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)
  • Adaobi L. Dibor (Blood Vessel)
  • Evelyne Ily (Mami Wata)
  • Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)


Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)


  • Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)
  • Itele d Icon (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)
  • Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)
  • Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)
  • Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)
  • Ropo Ewenla (Over the Bridge)


Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life)


  • Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)
  • Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)
  • Eliane Umuhire (Omen)
  • Tana Adelana (Ijogbon – Chaos)
  • Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)


Best Director

Winner: BB Sasore (Breath of Life)


  • Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)
  • Adebayo Tijani And Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)
  • C.J. Fiery Obasi (Mami Wata)
  • Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)
  • Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)


Best Cinematography

Winner: KC Obiajulu (Over the Bridge)


  • Mami Wata (Lílis Soares)
  • Blood Vessel (Gideon Chukwu)
  • Breath of Life (Ola Cardoso)
  • Jagun Jagun – The Warrior (Adeoluwa Owu)
  • Ijogbon – Chaos (Adekunle Nodash Adejuyigbe)
  • Omen (Joachim Philippe)


Best Editing

Winner: Antonio Ribeiro (The Black Book)


  • Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo (Over The Bridge)
  • Holmes Awa (Breath of Life)
  • Alex Kamau And Victor Obok (Volume)
  • Dayo Nathaniel (Ogeere – Earth)
  • Nathan Delannoy (Mami Wata)


Best Digital Content

Winner: Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi) – Copyright Infringement 


  • National Treasure – Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)
  • Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi) – Medical Negligence
  • Hello Neighbour – Elozonam Ogbolu, Lina Idoko, and Jemima Osunde
  • The Boyfriend – Maryam Apaokagi-Greene


Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

Winner: Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo)


  • Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)
  • Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)
  • Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)
  • Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)


Best Sound Design

Winner: Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breath of Life and Blood Vessel)


  • Ava Momoh (Over the Bridge)
  • Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (Kipkemboi)
  • Samy Bardet (Mami Wata)


Best Art Direction

Winner: Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade)


  •  Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)
  • Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)
  • The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)
  • Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)
  • Mami Wata (C.J Fiery Obasi)
  • Omen (Eve Martin)


Best Costume Design

Winner: Lola Awe (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)


  • Demola Adeyemi (Over The Bridge)
  • Bolanle Austin Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker and Clement Effanga (Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti)
  • Bunmi Demilola Fashina (Mami Wata)
  • Daniel Obasi (Breath of Life)


Best Makeup

Winner: Campbell Precious (Mami Wata)


  • Francesca Otaigbe (Over the Bridge)
  • Hadizat Gambo (Mojisola)
  • Hakeem Onilogbo (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Feyisayo Oyebisi (A Tribe Called Judah)


Best Writing TV Series

Winner: Volume 


  • Skinny Girl in Transit (Season 7)
  • Wura (Season 2)
  • Visa on Arrival
  • MTV Shuga Naija
  • Masquerades of Aniedo
  • Slum King


Best Writing in a Movie

Winner: Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti (Tunde Babalola)


  • Breath of Life (BB Sasore)
  • Over The Bridge (Tosin Otudeko)
  • Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Adebayo Tijani)
  • Afamefuna (Anyanwu Sandra Adaora)
  • A Tribe Called Judah (Olufunke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh and Akinlabi Ishola)
  • Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)


Best Movie 

Winner: Breath Of Life


  • Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti
  • Breath of Life
  • Over The Bridge
  • Blood Vessel
  • A Tribe Called Judah
  • The Black Book
  • Mami Wata


Best Documentary

Winner: Lobola, A Bride’s True Price?


  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)
  • Empalikino (Forgiveness)
  • The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water for Gold)
  • Sowing Hope


Best Scripted Series

Winner: Itura


  • Volume
  • Wura (Season 2)
  • Slum King
  • Chronicles


Best Unscripted Series

Winner: Gh Queens (Season 2)


  • Lol Naija (Season 1)
  • Nightlife In Lasgidi
  • The Real Housewives Of Lagos (Season 2)
  • Mutale Mwanza Unscripted (Season 1)


Best Indigenous Language (East Africa)

Winner: Wandongwa


  • Where The River Divides
  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)
  • Nakupenda
  • Itifaki


Best Indigenous Language (South Africa)

Winner: Motshameko O Kotsi


  • Service To Heart
  • Uncle Limbani


Best Multichoice Talent Factory Movie

Winner: Her Dark Past


  • Grown
  • Somewhere in Kole
  • Full-Time Husband
  • The 11th Commandment
  • Mfumukazi


Best Scripted M-Net Original

Winner: Slum King 


  • Half Open Window
  • Itura
  • The Passenger
  • Magic Room


Best Unscripted M-Net Original

Winner: Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)


  • What Will People Say
  • The Irabors’ Forever After
  • Date My Family Zambia
  • Royal Qlique (Season 2)


Best Indigenous M-Net Original

Winner: Irora Iya (Adeniyi Joseph) 


  • The Passenger
  • Nana Akoto
  • Apo
  • Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)


Best Short Film

Winner: Broken Mask


  • T’egbon T’aburo
  • Broken Mask
  • Eighteenth Year
  • Man and Masquerades
  • A Place Called Forward


Trailblazer award 

Winner: Chimezie Imo


Industry merit award

Esther Idowu Phillips

Richard Mofe Damijo

From the nominees to the winners, the AMVCA continues to acknowledge the beauty of film and the talent that makes film possible. On this winners list are those who have touched people’s lives through their dedication, talent and commitment to creating art from imagination and living. Here’s to all the nominees and winners who made 2023 a splendid year for African cinema. 


React to this post!
No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.